Visitors to Idaho Power’s Swan Falls Dam, south of Kuna, can add a dose of history to their day trip or weekend campout. The dam’s historic powerhouse museum is open to the public from 10 a.m.to 4 p.m. Saturdays through the end of August.
Built in 1901 to supply electricity to nearby mines, Swan Falls is the oldest hydroelectric project on the Snake River. The original powerhouse was decommissioned in 1994 and replaced with a new powerhouse that still generates electricity for Idaho Power customers.
Part of the old powerhouse is now a museum where visitors can see some of the plant’s original equipment and even get close to an old turbine. Visitors to the park above Swan Falls Dam may also notice renovation work taking place at the old boarding house where dam employees once lived; the house remains closed to the public.
The Swan Falls project also includes boat launches above and below the dam, as well as free sites for overnight camping. For more, visit idahopower.com/recreation and select Parks and Campgrounds.