Located along the Snake River about 20 miles south of Kuna, Idaho.
This day-use park with a reservable picnic shelter is within the Snake River Birds of Prey National Conservation Area. The old power house is now a museum open to the public from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. each Saturday from April 15 to Labor Day.
Day use in the park is free.
- Fishing docks
- Interpretive signs
The dam was built in 1901 to provide electricity to nearby mines. Swan Falls is the oldest hydroelectric generating site on the Snake River. Idaho Power built a new power plant in the mid-1990s. The old plant is now a museum.
The Swan Falls museum is open to the public, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. every Saturday between April 15 and Labor Day. Tours at other times may be arranged in advance by emailing us. Scheduling tours outside open hours requires at least two weeks prior notice. See tour guidelines.
Visitors can walk across the face of the dam to reach the south side of the Snake River. Safety guidelines have prompted the installation of a gate that locks automatically at 9 p.m. Anyone on the south side of the river after 9 p.m. will still be able to return, however, the gate will open only in one direction.
An equestrian parking area is available below the dam. Please do not clean horse trailers in the parking area, or anywhere in the Swan Falls recreation corridor. Overnight camping is not allowed in this area. Visit the Treasure Valley Back Country Horsemen’s website to learn more about equestrian opportunities for this area.
View a list of complete policies.